The Learning Never Ends

22 06 2009

I have suddenly become unhappy with how slowly and how undignifiedly (can’t think of a more suitable word, so had to use this made up one), I knit.  I wonder if it has something to do with my being left handed and having to control the yarn with my right hand.  Although, this is a bit of a weak excuse as I use a knife and fork right handed, play golf and cricket right handed, but I do write, use chopsticks, play tennis and crochet left handed.  Anyway, the reasons are irrelevant, but the feeling of dissatisfaction is annoying.

Last Saturday afternoon I decided to teach myself to knit in the continental style.  To hold and control the yarn with my left hand.  I downloaded a great video demonstration from YouTube (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XuRLFl36tDY) and watched it a couple of times before making my first attempt.  I must have watched it another 20 or more times while I got the hang of it, but eventually I seemed to have at least mastered what I was supposed to do. 

On Sunday I knit a garter stitch square using my new style and although the tension wasn’t great at the beginning, by the end it was looking pretty even.  On Monday I started knitting a cardigan (swing style with a K12P6 rib pattern) using my new method and I must say it is looking very even. 

I can see that it is going to be much faster, although it is probably at the stage where it is on a par with how fast I was knitting using the throw style, previously.  It is kind of like changing to tea with no sugar, I am still not quite used to it, but there is no way I could go back.  The method feels really comfortable for me and I’m so glad I made the effort to learn.

Actions

Information

3 responses

23 06 2009
Penni

Good work Lightning, though I hope it wasn’t something I said that made you feel you knit ‘undignifiedly’!

24 06 2009
kristyknitsbig

No, I figured that one out all on my own lol, but you can take credit for inspiring me to learn something new.

27 05 2011
marikaye

I just wanted to say that knitting isn’t about dignity. It is about caring enough to use your valuable time, energy and love to create something for those you love. I am one of the most undignified knitters you will ever meet. My hands shake and I sometimes don’t get the needles even close to each other but I keep going because I love it. Don’t let today’s inane belief that one must be perfect in all they do. Perfection occurs in Utopia not here in Hobart. I sometimes think that our ‘song’ should be “I Get Knocked Down But Get Up Again.”. Looking forward to meeting you at Pasha’s as soon as I can get there.

Leave a Reply

