World Wide Knit in Public Day

17 06 2009
Saturday, June 13th was World Wide Knit in Public Day.  The Tassie Ravelry
Group had organised a day in Ross at the Wool Centre which I had committed to going to.  I must admit when I woke up in the morning and the weather was so dreary I would much preferred to have been staying at home and knitting in front of the football, but I gritted my teeth and headed off into the pouring rain.

I’m so glad I made the effort, the trip up and the trip home were awful, especially going home as the rain was pouring, the tarmac was shiny, the orange lights down the Brooker were shocking, it was completely dark by Pontville and then foggy from Vince’s Saddle to home.  But the day was absolute bliss. 

I haven’t been to the Wool Centre at Ross for a very long time and I had forgotten how spectacular it really is.  Deb from the Wool Centre was so generous, she had tea and coffee making facilities, biccies and even home made scones and jam and cream!  The knitwear for sale was gorgeous and very inspiring.  There was a brand of yarn there called Woolganic which I hadn’t hear of, but was so soft and the colours were wonderful.  I ended up buying enough to make Elise a vest.

Woolganics for Elise

Woolganics for Elise

They also had a great range of buttons, which, of course I couldn’t resist, and I also came home with a book called Knitterbugs with some great projects for kids to knit.  Elise is going so well with knitting it won’t be long before she will want some more challening patterns.

There was a great bunch of knitters and spinners gathered out the back, making plenty of noise, much too scarey for anybody to actually come along and ask about knitting so I’m not sure how successful we were with the aims of World Wide Knit in Public Day.  There was spinning and knitting and fondling of handspun and talking and laughing and admiring of handknits and a bit more knitting.  I forgot my camera so I don’t have any photos to post, but trust me it was blissful.  Lunch at the pub and a couple of glasses of wine and a bit more knitting and then home.  Truly lovely. 

Penni made us some great bags and badges for the day.

Penni's fabulous work

and Jo designed the nudie ewe for the front – very clever.

Nudie ewe

Nudie ewe

Roll on World Wide Knit in Public Day 2010!!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

