Tennis Socks for Lindy Lou

25 04 2009

These socks have been on the needles for too long, so I decided that monomgamy was the only answer and finished them off remarkably quickly.

They are knit with Tofutsies yarn from South West Trading Company which is really gorgeous to knit with.  It is lovely and soft and a little bit stretchy and doesn’t split at all.  I found that it knit really quickly as well, although this may be because I knitted them on a size larger needles than recommended to make them a little lighter and lacier (the wearer will be playing tennis in Vietnam – doesn’t bear thinking about really!).

The pattern is from a Tasmanian designer, Ceriwen Davies, and is published in Yarn Magazine (issue 12).  It is an easy lace pattern, quick to memorise, and looks more complicated than it is (always a bonus).  I can’t figure out any mistake that I made, but the pattern didn’t work out correctly down the heel flap, although it did down the foot, luckily, unless you know about it, you can’t really notice it.

All in all, I enjoyed knitting these socks and I have more than enough yarn left in my skein to knit another pair.

Unblocked - Lindy can block them when she wears them

Unblocked - Lindy can block them when she wears them

Elise - my graceful, if slightly too small, model

Elise - my graceful, if slightly too small, model

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

